Twelve Declared For Rescheduled Vertem Futurity Trophy


30 October 2019

A total of twelve horses have declared for the rescheduled running of the Group 1 Vertem Futurity Trophy on Friday 1 November. 

The race will take place at 6pm at Newcastle Racecourse and will be shown live on Sky Sports Racing. Coming on the 30th anniversary of All-Weather racing in Britain, the 2019 Vertem Futurity Trophy will make history as the first Group 1 run on a synthetic surface in British Racing history.

Looking for a hat trick of wins in the race following Magna Grecia and Saxon Warrior’s wins in 2018 and 2017 respectively, Aidan O’Brien has declared five horses, INNISFREE, MOGUL, NEW WORLD TAPESTRY, ROYAL COUNTY DOWN and YEAR OF THE TIGER.

Also from the original line up of declarations, Qatar Racing’s KAMEKO, trained by Andrew Balding looks to take his place at Newcastle.  There is further Irish support for the race from Jim Bolger’s yard, GEOMETRICAL and Emmet Mullins’ KING OF THE THRONE.

Champion trainer John Gosden has declared CHEROKEE TRAIL and Godolphin’s VERBOTEN, whilst Ralph Beckett’s KINROSS and William Haggas’ TAMMANI complete the lineup.

John Dance, of sponsors Vertem, said, “We are absolutely delighted with the declarations for the Futurity and very grateful for the support that the race has received from horsemen.  Obviously, we were disappointed that the race was not able to take place at Doncaster at the weekend but to bring a Group 1 race up to Newcastle, our home track, is a fantastic alternative and we can’t wait for Friday night.”

Doncaster and Newcastle Racecourses are delighted to confirm that anyone who had tickets for racing at Doncaster on Saturday will be eligible to attend the Newcastle fixture on Friday for free by simply emailing by 5pm on Thursday 31 October.  Customers will require their original Doncaster booking number, tickets will be available for collection from Newcastle Racecourse on the day.

In addition, for Doncaster Annual Members, subsidised return coach travel will be available to Newcastle in addition to the usual free entry to the evening’s racing for Annual Badge holders at all sixteen ARC racecourses.


Newcastle Racecourse

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.